Best Moment Award

best-moment-award

Awarding the people who live in the moment,
The noble who write and capture the best in life,
The bold who reminded us what really mattered –
Savoring the experience of quality time.

RULES:

Winners re-post this completely with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video recorded.

Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awardees! The re-post should include a NEW set of people/blogs worthy of the award; and winners notify them the great news.

RESOURCES:

  • What makes a good acceptance speech?
    • Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way
    • Humor. Keep us entertained and smiling
    • Inspiration. Make your story touch our lives
  • Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches, compiled inMomentMatters.com/Speech
  • Display the award’s badge on your blog/website, downloadable inMomentMatters.com/Award

ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

Thank you to Love Protection for granting me this honor! I would also like to thank the little people who have helped me along the way: the Smurfs, Tinkerbell, and Dobby the house elf.

I would also like to show my appreciation for the still small, but slightly larger people, AJ & JC, to whom I can credit the necessity of of this blog in the first place. Without them, I would not have half of the stories, nor most of the pictures with which I am able to draft my tales for your perusal. Or, in other words, they do all the funny crap. I’m just a witness with a keyboard.

I would also like to mention my wonderful husband, Tom, without whom I would have had a very hard time trying to reproduce…which would have led to lack of writing subjects… Not that it’s the only reason I keep him around. He also cooks.

The road has been long, but worthwhile; the Nutella fattening, but addictive; the yoga pants stretchy and forgiving; the vodka strong, but free flowing. And as I continue down this path of “Mommy! Mum! Mama! Mommy! Ma! I need you!”, I often think, “Where would I be if not for my family?” The answer: taking long baths, reading a book, peeing alone (click for a great book by some wonderful moms), taking a nap…

But it’s all worth it. My men are my life. Get your mind out of the gutter, I meant husband, kids and dog – all boys. Maybe I should get a she-cat or three to balance it out…except I’m terrified of cats…Oh yeah, they are my life, and I couldn’t ask for a better family.  I could ask for a better tasting diet chocolate, but that’s my own fault for eating so many jars of Nutella. That shit should really come with a warning.

And so I leave you with a thought from the late, great George Carlin:

The very existence of flamethrowers proves that sometime, somewhere, someone said to themselves, “You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I’m just not close enough to get the job done.”

THE WINNERS OF THE BEST MOMENT AWARD ARE:

1. ComfyTown Chronicles

2. Mommy Needs a Martini

3. Pocketful of Joules

4. Baking In A Tornado

5. A Mother Life

Don’t forget to celebrate with your followers! Tweet your success with hashtag #MomentMatters.

Congratulations, winners!

Posted on March 28, 2013, in Award, Family, Humor, Parenting, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

