For Auntie Helen

My Great Auntie passed away today at the age of 98. I will always remember her with a smile on her face, because she was always had one when I saw her; she was always happy to see you, always happy to hear stories about how you were doing. Beloved mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, sister, wife and aunt, she will be greatly missed.

A little anecdote to share and hopefully bring some lightness to this loss: one time, Auntie was at my house. I had to be at least 4ish, because we had moved there sometime after I turned three. She let me come in the bathroom with her when she was taking out her teeth. I remember being both shocked and amazed. She must have made a comment about how only older folks could do that, because I remember responding that I wanted to take my teeth out when I was an adult, too. And with her teeth back in, she gave me a smile.

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Family. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

